Balyan family, Yildiz clocktower



Pentax K10D, at Istanbul


Seizing my life in your hands, you thrashed me clean

Seizing my life in your hands, you thrashed me clean
On savage rocks of eternal mind.
How its colors bled, until they grew white!
You smile and sit back: I dry in your sun.

The Sea boils with passion for you,
The clouds pour pearls at your feet
A lightning from your love has pierced the earth
This smoke curling to heaven is its child.

We were green: we ripened and grew golden.
The Sea terrified us: we learned how to drown.
Squat and earthbound, we unfolded huge wings.
We started sober: are love’s startled drunkards.

You hide me in your cloak of nothingness
Reflect my ghost in your glass of being
I am nothing, yet appear: transparent dream
Where your eternity briefly trembles.


Mevlana Jelaluddin Rumi

from The Way of Passion: A Celebration of Rumi, by Andrew Harvey

Leave a Reply

