Daily Archives: May 15, 2009

You and I unselfed, will be together

red tulips, istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul lale festivali, kırmızı laleler, istanbul emirgan, pentax k10d

red tulips, istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul lale festivali, kırmızı laleler, istanbul emirgan, pentax k10d

A moment of happiness

 
A moment of happiness
you and I sitting on the verandah,
apparently two, but one in soul, you and I.

We feel the flowing water of life here,
you and I, with the garden’s beauty
and the birds singing.

The stars will be watching us,
and we will show them
what it is to be a thin crescent moon.

You and I unselfed, will be together,
indifferent to idle speculation, you and I.

The parrots of heaven will be cracking sugar
as we laugh together, you and I.

In one form upon this earth,
and in another form in a timeless sweet land.

From : Kulliyat-e Shams, 2114

Mevlana

hmmm …

portrait

portrait

window from Ayazma Mosque

Ayazma Camii, Üsküdar, İstanbul, pentax k10d

Ayazma Camii, Üsküdar, İstanbul, pentax k10d


Seizing my life in your hands, you thrashed me clean

Seizing my life in your hands, you thrashed me clean
On savage rocks of eternal mind.
How its colors bled, until they grew white!
You smile and sit back: I dry in your sun.

The Sea boils with passion for you,
The clouds pour pearls at your feet
A lightning from your love has pierced the earth
This smoke curling to heaven is its child.

We were green: we ripened and grew golden.
The Sea terrified us: we learned how to drown.
Squat and earthbound, we unfolded huge wings.
We started sober: are love’s startled drunkards.

You hide me in your cloak of nothingness
Reflect my ghost in your glass of being
I am nothing, yet appear: transparent dream
Where your eternity briefly trembles.


Mevlana Jelaluddin Rumi

from The Way of Passion: A Celebration of Rumi, by Andrew Harvey

Ayazma Camii

Ayazma camii, Ayazma mosque, Üsküdar, İstanbul, Pentax K10d

Ayazma camii, Ayazma mosque, Üsküdar, İstanbul, Pentax K10d


Inner Wakefulness

This place is a dream
only a sleeper considers it real
then death comes like dawn
and you wake up laughing
at what you thought
was your grief

A man goes to sleep in the town
where he has always lived
and he dreams
he’s living in another town
in the dream he doesn’t remember
the town he’s sleeping in his bed in
he believes the reality
of the dream town
the world is that kind of sleep

Humankind is being led
along an evolving course,
through this migration
of intelligences
and though we seem
to be sleeping
there is an inner wakefulness,
that directs the dream
and that will eventually
startle us back
to the truth of
who we are

Mevlana Jelaluddin Rumi

from The Essential Rumi, Translated by Coleman Barks

Ayazma Camii

Ayazma Camii, Ayazma Mosque, Üsküdar, İstanbul, Pentax K10d

Ayazma Camii, Ayazma Mosque, Üsküdar, İstanbul, Pentax K10d

Murat Reis Camii

Üsküdar Murat Reis Camii, Murat Reis Mosque, Üsküdar , İstanbul, Pentax K10d

Üsküdar Murat Reis Camii, Murat Reis Mosque, Üsküdar , İstanbul, Pentax K10d

Hagia Sophia and yellow cabs

Ayasofya müzesi ve Sultanahmet meydanı, Hagia Sophia and Sultanahmet Square, İstanbul, Pentax K10d

Ayasofya müzesi ve Sultanahmet meydanı, Hagia Sophia and Sultanahmet Square, İstanbul, Pentax K10d

Liberate my soul. Fill me with your love

tulips, istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul lale festivali 2009, istanbul, pentax k10d

tulips, istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul lale festivali 2009, istanbul, pentax k10d

Oh Beloved

Oh Beloved,
take me.
Liberate my soul.
Fill me with your love and
release me from the two worlds.
If I set my heart on anything but you
let fire burn me from inside.

Oh Beloved,
take away what I want.
Take away what I do.
Take away what I need.
Take away everything
that takes me from you.

Mevlana

A midsummer night’s dream

Istanbul Tulip Festival 2009, İstanbul Lale Festivali 2009, İstanbul, Pentax K10d

Istanbul Tulip Festival 2009, İstanbul Lale Festivali 2009, İstanbul, Pentax K10d

A midsummer night’s dream

“If we shadows have offended
Think but this and all is mended,
That you have but slumber’d here,
While these visions did appear.
And this weak and idle theme
No more yielding but a dream.”

William Shakespeare

I wish I could give you a taste of the burning fire of Love

red tulips, istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul lale festivali 2009, kırmızı laleler, istanbul, pentax k10d

red tulips, istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul lale festivali 2009, kırmızı laleler, istanbul, pentax k10d

I wish I could give you a taste of
the burning fire of Love.
There is a fire
blazing inside of me.
If I cry about it, or if I don’t,
the fire is at work,
night and day.
People make clothing to cover their intellect,
but the heart of Lovers
is a shroud,
inflamed in golden hues of his Love.

Mevlana