Here we are at the edge of the water the sycamore and I


blac-red tulips, Istanbul Tulip Festival, Emirgan park of Istanbul, Pentax K10D

blac-red tulips, Istanbul Tulip Festival, Emirgan park of Istanbul, Pentax K10D

The Tale Of  Tales

Here we are at the edge of the water

the sycamore and I.

Our forms appear in the water

the sycamore’s and mine.

The water casts light back on us

the sycamore and me.

Here we are at the edge of the water

the sycamore and I, and with us a cat.

Our forms appear in the water

the sycamore’s and mine and the cat’s.

The water casts light back on us

the sycamore, me, and the cat.

Here we are at the edge of the water

the sycamore and I, the cat—and the sun.

Our forms appear in the water

the sycamore’s and mine, the cat’s and the sun’s.

The water casts light back on us

the sycamore and me, the cat and the sun.

Here we are at the edge of the water,

the sycamore and I, the cat and the sun with all that we are.

Our forms appear in the water

the sycamore’s and mine, the cat’s and the sun’s with all that we are.

The water casts light back on us

the sycamore and me, the cat and the sun and all that we are.

Here we are at the edge of the water

the sycamore and I, the cat and the sun with all that we are.

First the cat will go

and its form will disappear from the water.

I will go next

and my form will disappear from the water.

Then the sycamore will go

and its form will disappear from the water.

Then the water will go

and the sun will be left

but then it too will go.

Here we are at the edge of the water

the sycamore and I, the cat and the sun with all that we are.

The water is cool

the sycamore magnificent

I am writing poetry

the cat dozing.

The sun is warm—

how wonderful to be alive.

The water casts light back on us

the sycamore and me, the cat and the sun and all that we are.

Nazım Hikmet

translated by Jean Carpenter Efe


4 responses to “Here we are at the edge of the water the sycamore and I

  1. Thanks Jerz,

    It was 18-55 mm kit lens. Normally I am using kit lens, for portraits 52 mm/2 .

    for tele needs I ‘ve got 100-300 mm(pentax) and 4xconverter (tamron)

    see you again

    regards
    ozgur

  2. thanks Pia,

    for your visit and comment. Black tulip is good and rarely.

    meet you in Istanbul Tulip Festival.

    regards
    ozgur

  3. Nice picture, what lens did you use?

  4. What a lovely photo, neat angle and the colour of those tulips are gorgeous! I bought some black tulips in Amsterdam last year, they didn’t appear this past summer but hopefully for the spring to come.

Leave a Reply

