This rain, this beastly September rain


yellow tulips and red tulips from istanbul tulip festival, pentax k10d

yellow tulips and red tulips from istanbul tulip festival, pentax k10d

AUTUMN MELODY

Lycée girls were crossing the avenue
The book of civil law I gently closed tight
It was about an exam, money, a label
I lit a cigarette out of spite.

For example, I said, this world
Spins and spins in a void
This rain, this beastly September rain
Drives a fellow completely insane
Ok, but people, people
What notion do they serve

I thought and thought touched to the heart

Seconds, moments, hours and soon
The days flow like water, my brother
On one hand the text-book, my heart on the other
I didn’t know what to do

Ataol Behramoglu
Translation by Walter Andrews

taken by Pentax K10D, at Istanbul

Leave a Reply

