I have been tricked by flying too close


red tulip, istanbul tulip festival, istanbul, pentax k10d

red tulip, istanbul tulip festival, istanbul, pentax k10d

Fasting is the first principle of medicine.

Mevlana

I have been tricked by flying too close
to what I thought I loved.

Now the candleflame is out, the wine spilled,
and the lovers have withdrawn
somewhere beyond my squinting.

The amount I thought I’d won, I’ve lost.
My prayers becomes bitter and all about blindness.

How wonderful it was to be for a while
with those who surrender.

Others only turn their faces on way,
then another, like pigeon in flight.

I have known pigeons who fly in a nowhere,
and birds that eat grainlessness,

and tailor who sew beautiful clothes
by tearing them to pieces.
Mevlana


From:
(Mathnawi, V. 346-353) Like This,
Rumi, Coleman Barks, Maypop Books

taken by Pentax K10D, at Istanbul

One response to “I have been tricked by flying too close

  1. Pingback: My Suggestions for November 2008 « Istanbul through my eyes

Leave a Reply

