It must be love … “Christel De Preter”


It must be love …

When I booked another citytrip to Istanbul, my friends asked me: ‘What is it with you and Istanbul?’
At first, I didn’t really know how to answer that question exactly so I started with: it’s its culture, its  present and its past, its colors, it’s the people, it’s the food, it’s the atmosphere, it’s the sun shining on the Bosphorus, it’s the moon rising on a clear night, it’s the smell of the spices at the Egyptian Bazaar, it’s simply …. magic. A thousand words wouldn’t have been enough to describe how I feel about Istanbul but there is only one word that is universal and which everybody understands so I finally said: it must be love. I fell in love with the city a few years ago and it was love at first sight.

Istanbul photos by Christel De Preter

Istanbul photos by Christel De Preter

I’m not much of a photographer, but this year I was determined to capture some of Istanbul’s lovely colors. I hope, you readers, enjoy them as much as I did. But it would even be better if you would just go out there and find out for yourself! As I said: there just aren’t enough words to describe all the sensations you feel when you visit this city. And neither will the pictures (I think I should apply for a
job at the Istanbul Tourist Information Center ).

Istanbul photos by Christel De Preter

Istanbul photos by Christel De Preter

Finally, Istanbul is an ideal city to meet up with some of your Facebook friends who are also Istanbul  lovers. Here’s to you, Eleka, to the beginning of a beautiful friendship!

Istanbul photos by Christel De Preter

Istanbul photos by Christel De Preter

So you see, Mr. Disney, it is a small world after all and Facebook obviously does bring people together (not just virtually).!

Christel De Preter

 

 

3 responses to “It must be love … “Christel De Preter”

  1. I like informations that you gave about istanbul, good post

  2. Yes, so difficult to describe what is special about Istanbul. We miss it a lot when we’re not there. And the internet is just great at bringing people together. We’ve made many new friends through our blog, Twitter and Facebook. Yeahy for the internet! :)
    Julia

  3. I haven’t been to Istanbul for 2 years (this month). I am in withdrawal – pulling out photos, taking myself there to enjoy the history, culture, colours, call for prayer, the vibe is like no other. People have often asked me about my love affair with the city and I can’t explain it without smiling my fool head off – :) Needless to say, I get it!

Leave a Reply

