Art is everywhere


Art is everywhere

I think it is common knowledge that at some point we don´t notice beauty in our everyday surroundings. We feel stressed because of our obligations, become stony, blind and careless. We navigate daily on certain streets at certain times with certain thoughts in mind.

stunning 3D Kadikoy, Istanbul photos by Eleka Rugam-Rebane

stunning 3D Kadikoy, Istanbul photos by Eleka Rugam-Rebane

I feel that travelling abroad opens my heart, all senses are alert. I notice and process more of what I see than at home where everything seems familiar and little boring. But I am convinced that “a piece of art” always makes your day and has the same influence on people as travelling. Art is everywhere and everything. First time in Istanbul I was little confused. I didn´t have time to look for art and beauty in this city. And I couldn´t see it either because it was locked out from my mind. Now returning to Istanbul every now and then I can see beauty in this city. I equally enjoy art in museums, tea houses, galleries, mosques, on the streets. Architecture. Nature. Food. Fashion. Poetry. Music. Stories of people. You name it. It´s everywhere and it´s intertwined.

When speaking about visual arts I´ve had great art experiences in Istanbul lately. The most recent memories are from an art studio in Kadiköy which I had a privilege to visit. In that studio I could follow the masters Dilek and Murat Selamet with their students drawing and painting most exquisite miniatures. Ultimate precision and devotion. Creating art and beauty. This process of drawing and painting was art in itself. Özgür has published a nice post about atelier Altinoran in this blog

Another place which is always worth visiting and where my feet constantly take me is Pera museum. I´ve seen excellent paintings by Ihsan Cemal Karaburcak there, an exhibition called Purple. In March I had an opportunity to enjoy the work of famous Mexican couple Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera, also Russian classic masterpieces from 19th century. Shortly after that I was stunned by an irresistible exhibition named – Istanbul: the City of Dreams. Paintings depicting daily life of Ottoman Turkey.

Not far from Taksim one can get a superb overview of Turkish painting – Istanbul Modern presents a well-balanced mixture of Turkish classics and modern art. Istanbul Modern is located on the shore of Bosphorus. Thus, after “consuming” some art the time is right for consuming something delicate at the museum cafeteria. The view will carry you away…

History and modernity, Istanbul photos by Eleka Rugam-Rebane

History and modernity, Istanbul photos by Eleka Rugam-Rebane

But I´ve been fascinated also by paintings on the house walls in Kariyer and Kadiköy, graffiti in Tarlabasi. The charm of unexpected. You just walk along the street and suddenly you face it … outdoor art gallery…

Kariye , Istanbul photos by Eleka Rugam-Rebane

Kariye , Istanbul photos by Eleka Rugam-Rebane

Eleka Rugam-Rebane

Leave a Reply

