You must grieve for this right now, if you’re going to say “I lived”…


Belek beach, Antalya, pentax k10d

Belek beach, Antalya, pentax k10d

On Living III

This earth will grow cold, a star among stars
and one of the smallest,
a gilded mote on blue velvet -
I mean this, our great earth.

This earth will grow cold one day.
not like a block of ice
or a dead cloud even
but like an empty walnut it will roll along
in pitch-black space.

You must grieve for this right now
– you have to feel this sorrow now -
for the world must be loved this much
if you’re going to say “I lived”…

Nazım HİKMET

February 1948

3 responses to “You must grieve for this right now, if you’re going to say “I lived”…

  1. hardisk eksternal

    What youre saying is completely true. I know that everybody must say the same thing, but I just think that you put it in a way that everyone can understand. I also love the images you put in here. They fit so well with what youre trying to say. Im sure youll reach so many people with what youve got to say.

  2. I’ve that one about thirty times this week.
    It is nice to see it here.
    February 1948.

Leave a Reply

