when it gets dark softly in Istanbul, I love you


Istanbul, Haliç, Golden Horn, pentax k10d

Istanbul, Haliç, Golden Horn, pentax k10d

I Love You

I love you
like dipping bread into salt and eating
Like walking up at night with high fever
and drinking water, with the tap in my mouth
Like unwrapping the heavy box from postman
with no clue what it is
fluttering, happy, doubtful
I love you
like flying over the in a plane for the first time
Like something moves inside me
when it gets dark  softly in Istanbul
I love you
Like thanking God that we live.

Nazım Hikmet

4 responses to “when it gets dark softly in Istanbul, I love you

  1. …like flying over the sea in a plane for the first time…

  2. This is one of my favorite poems from Nazim Bey. Thank you for posting it.

  3. istanbul restaurant

    payitaht restaurant

    beautiful city istanbul

Leave a Reply

