Daily Archives: May 13, 2009

Now it is time for silence.

pink tulips, istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul lale festivali 2009, pentax k10d

pink tulips, istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul lale festivali 2009, pentax k10d

Who is at my door?

He said, “Who is at my door?”
I said, “Your humble servant.”
He said, “What business do you have?”
I said, “To greet you, 0 Lord.”

He said, “How long will you journey on?”
I said, “Until you stop me.”
He said, “How long will you boil in the fire?”
I said, “Until I am pure.

“This is my oath of love.
For the sake of love
I gave up wealth and position.”

He said, “You have pleaded your case
but you have no witness.”
I said, “My tears are my witness;
the pallor of my face is my proof.’

He said, “Your witness has no credibility;
your eyes are too wet to see.”
I said, “By the splendor of your justice
my eyes are clear and faultless.”

He said, “What do you seek?”
I said, “To have you as my constant friend.”
He said, “What do you want from me?”
I said, “Your abundant grace.”

He said, “Who was your companion on the ‘ourney?
I said, “The thought of you, 0 King.”
He said, “What called you here?”
I said, “The fragrance of your wine.”

He said, “What brings you the most fulfillment?”
I said, “The company of the Emperor.”
He said, “What do you find there?”
I said, “A hundred miracles.”

He said, “Why is the palace deserted?”
I said, “They all fear the thief.”
He said, “Who is the thief?”
I said, “The one who keeps me from -you.

He said, “Where is there safety?”
I said, “In service and renunciation.”
He said, “What is there to renounce?”
I said, “The hope of salvation.”

He said, “Where is there calamity?”
I said, “In the presence of your love.”
He said, “How do you benefit from this life?”
I said, “By keeping true to myself

Now it is time for silence.
If I told you about His true essence
You would fly from your self and be gone,
and neither door nor roof could hold you back!

From:  Rumi – In the Arms of the Beloved, Jonathan Star,  Jeremy P. Tarcher/Putnam, New York 1997

tulips

istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul, pentax k10d

istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul, pentax k10d

grandma portrait

grandma portrait in daylight, pentax k10d

grandma portrait in daylight, pentax k10d

sun catcher

daylight portrait, istanbul, pentax k10d

daylight portrait, istanbul, pentax k10d

There is a certain Love that is formed out of the elixir of the East.

istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul lale festivali 2009, istanbul, pentax k10d

istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul lale festivali 2009, istanbul, pentax k10d

There is a certain Love
There is a certain Love
that is formed out of the
elixir of the East.
There is a certain cloud,
impregnated with a
thousand lightnings.
There is my body,
in it an ocean formed of his glory,
all the creation,
all the universes,
all the galaxies,
are lost in it.
Mevlana

I know a country laced with roads

walking woman and tulips, istanbul, pentax k10d

walking woman and tulips, istanbul, pentax k10d

Roads

I know a country laced with roads,
They join the hills and they span the brooks,
They weave like a shuttle between broad fields,
And slide discreetly through hidden nooks.
They are canopied like a Persian dome
And carpeted with orient dyes.
They are myriad-voiced, and musical,
And scented with happiest memories.
O Winding roads that I know so well,
Every twist and turn, every hollow and hill!
They are set in my heart to a pulsing tune
Gay as a honey-bee humming in June.
‘T is the rhythmic beat of a horse’s feet
And the pattering paws of a sheep-dog bitch;
‘T is the creaking trees, and the singing breeze,
And the rustle of leaves in the road-side ditch.

A cow in a meadow shakes her bell
And the notes cut sharp through the autumn air,
Each chattering brook bears a fleet of leaves
Their cargo the rainbow, and just now where
The sun splashed bright on the road ahead
A startled rabbit quivered and fled.
O Uphill roads and roads that dip down!
You curl your sun-spattered length along,
And your march is beaten into a song
By the softly ringing hoofs of a horse
And the panting breath of the dogs I love.
The pageant of Autumn follows its course
And the blue sky of Autumn laughs above.

And the song and the country become as one,
I see it as music, I hear it as light;
Prismatic and shimmering, trembling to tone,
The land of desire, my soul’s delight.
And always it beats in my listening ears
With the gentle thud of a horse’s stride,
With the swift-falling steps of many dogs,
Following, following at my side.
O Roads that journey to fairyland!
Radiant highways whose vistas gleam,
Leading me on, under crimson leaves,
To the opaline gates of the Castles of Dream.

Amy Lowell

Pentax K10D, at Istanbul

yellow tulips, Istanbul tulip festival 2009

yellow tulips, Istanbul Tulip Festival 2009, sarı laleler, istanbul lale festivali 2009, istanbul, pentax k10d

yellow tulips, Istanbul Tulip Festival 2009, sarı laleler, istanbul lale festivali 2009, istanbul, pentax k10d

Istanbul Tulip Festival 2009

lilac tulips, istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul,  pentax k10d

lilac tulips, istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul, pentax k10d

I am in love with yellow tulips

yellow-red tulips, istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul lale festival 2009, sarı ve kırmızı laleler, istanbul emirgan, pentax k10d

yellow-red tulips, istanbul tulip festival 2009, istanbul lale festival 2009, sarı ve kırmızı laleler, istanbul emirgan, pentax k10d

I am in Love

I am in Love!
I am in Love with him.
All this advise–
what’s the use?
I have drunk poison.
All this sugar
what’s the use?
You say hurry,
tie up his feet.
But its my heart that’s gone crazy,
all this rope
around my feet–
what’s the use?

Mevlana

tulips, And all I loved, I loved alone.

yellow tulips, Istanbul Tulip Festival 2009, Istanbul Lale festivali 2009, İstanbul, Pentax K10d

yellow tulips, Istanbul Tulip Festival 2009, Istanbul Lale festivali 2009, İstanbul, Pentax K10d

Alone
From childhood’s hour I have not been
As others were; I have not seen
As others saw; I could not bring
My passions from a common spring.
From the same source I have not taken
My sorrow; I could not awaken
My heart to joy at the same tone;
And all I loved, I loved alone.
Then – in my childhood, in the dawn
Of a most stormy life – was drawn
From every depth of good and ill
The mystery which binds me still:
From the torrent, or the fountain,
From the red cliff of the mountain,
From the sun that round me rolled
In its autumn tint of gold,
From the lightning in the sky
As it passed me flying by,
From the thunder and the storm,
And the cloud that took the form
(When the rest of Heaven was blue)
Of a demon in my view.

Edgar Allan Poe